Sail – 50% off

Now that my in-laws have, for this weekend at least, become my live-in-laws, the holiday plans – hitherto a closely guarded secret – are coming more into focus.

Of most surprise (to me, at least, as everyone else seemed to be in full avail of the facts), is the news that we are not in fact sailing from Portsmouth, but from Poole; and not by conventional ferry but the so-called ‘FastCat’. This means that the crossing is no longer the stomach-churning and much-feared 9½ hours but a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it 4½ hours.

The downside to this is that, unlike Brittany Ferries, Condor do not appear to have wifi on their feline ships, and with no 3G coverage I will be without internet access. So much for my grand plan of browsing, blogging and tweeting from the open seas – or ‘channel surfing’ as I would have called it.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment