Vacation location elation

The mental image I had last week of my holiday is being slowly dismantled. First was the welcome news that we will be crossing La Manche from Poole instead of Portsmouth. This led, after some investigation, to the fact that we would be onboard a modern ‘FastCat’, rather than a more traditional monohulled ship. Now I have been informed that our base for the week, the Camping Village de la Plage at Carnac, is not actually anywhere near Carnac. It is, instead, near the not-very-similar-sounding-at-all resort of Guilvinec in the south-west corner of Brittany, some 139km (86 miles) by road from Carnac (or, if you are an Ancient Egyptian, 6106km or 3794 miles from Karnak). It is only a matter of time before someone lets slip that we won’t be going via St. Malo either, but will instead be alighting from the ship in Bilbao. Or worse, that I am not even invited.

If the holiday website is to be trusted (and I now see everything with disbelieving eyes), our accommodation will be a mobile home, although as I have seen no evidence of wheels in any of the photos, I lack confidence in their choice of the word ‘mobile’. We shall see just how easy it will be to relocate it should I get bored of the view. Perhaps it means it’s just about big enough for all of our cell-phones.

Most importantly though, is the promise of wi-fi access, although I can’t find whether it’s free and/or solely restricted to the main reception area. Whatever the case this will still be far more convenient than driving around trying to find a free hotspot at Le McDonald’s, and far cheaper than the spectacularly unreasonable £1.50/MB that 3 want to charge me for mobile internet access. Downloading some music from iTunes could cost more than the entire holiday, and that IS hard to believe.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment